Big Daddy (1999)

I’m not a big fan of children. I don’t have my own, and despite my best attempts I don’t have anyone else’s either…yet.

Clem Rusty
Thumb & Thumber
2 min readJan 8, 2016

--

👍

Is Big Daddy Adam Sandler’s best film? Yes. By a long stretch. And this is from an admitted Adam Sandler fan. I know his films are mostly terrible, but I like them anyway.

I like how they have most of the same actors in. I like that Adam Sandler gets the girl. And I especially like that they keep Rob Schneider in work.

Big Daddy is the only one with real heart and a decent, if somewhat unbelievable, plot. A kid turns up on Adam Sandler’s doorstep. He initially uses the poor, parentless child to try and win back his girlfriend. A normal reaction to the situation, I’m sure you’ll agree.

So after this cunning plan fails Sonny (Adam Sandler) eventually a falls in love with Frankenstein (the kid) and they kind of live happily ever after. Oh, and Sonny gets the girl.

I’m not a big fan of children. I don’t have my own, and despite my best attempts I don’t have anyone else’s either…yet.

However, if I was to have a kid turn up out of the blue on my doorstep I would like it to be a Frankenstein.

And I can’t help but wonder what Adam Sandler has on Steve Buscemi to get him to keep appearing in his films.

👍

--

--