Groundhog Day (1993)

He learns how to play the piano, kills a groundhog and commits suicide several times.

Clem Rusty
Thumb & Thumber
1 min readJan 8, 2016

--

👍👍👍

Groundhog Day is one of the best films ever made. There, I said it. If you disagree you are wrong.

I don’t need to go over the plot. Everyone has seen Groundhog Day. The character arc is perfect. Bill Murray plays Bill Murray who has to spend the same day over and over again being Bill Murray. A role Bill Murray was perfect for, having been Bill Murray every day for most of his life.

He learns how to play the piano, kills a groundhog and commits suicide several times. By the end he has evolved as a human being and learned how to love Andie Macdowell, who I’ll admit, is a handsome woman.

The ONLY mis-step I can see is that the groundhog isn’t a CGI abomination voiced by a B list comedian. David Spade was obviously unable to be found. Hidden away in Chris Farley’s shadow as he was.

The highest praise I can give Groundhog Day is that if I found myself in a Groundhog Day situation I would spend most of the days watching Groundhog Day.

👍👍👍

--

--