Straight Outta Compton (2015) Review

You are now about to witness the strength of good casting, an excellent score and a Jheri Curl.

Clem Rusty
Thumb & Thumber
3 min readFeb 2, 2016

--

Let me confess something. I’m a hip-hop fan. I’m also a music snob. So I don’t believe anyone knows as much about, or appreciates, hip-hop as I do. So I wasn’t going to watch Straight Outta Compton. I know the music. I know the story. And I resented people saying I would enjoy the film.

I particularly resent that they were right.

So, broadly, it’s about a small group of black teenagers and the troubles they face. No, Noel Clarke neither wrote or directed it.

They make music, sign a record deal within about 25 minutes and then enjoy the fruits of that 25 minutes of labour. All except Ice Cube. He’s a fly in the drink. Well, one of those joke ice cubes with a fly in.

The White Man, played by Paul Giamatti is screwing the group over alongside Eazy ‘Muthaphukkin’ E. Portrayed by a Dodger cap and Jheri curl. Cube is the only one who sees through the contract shenanigans and leaves the group, going on to record ‘No Vaseline’. This is the scene I enjoyed the most. No Vaseline is a devastating diss record. It holds up today as one of the best ever. And I hadn’t ever really imagined the rest of the group sitting around listening to it. The White Man reacts the most vehemently. Angrily threatening to have his White Man revenge on Cube in the courts. Displaying a complete lack of understanding of the group and individuals he has in his charge. NWA didn’t stand for Niggaz With Attorneyz.

The formation and success of NWA was inextricably linked with race relations in the US, and the film does a decent enough job of portraying this but doesn’t go to in depth. Amistad this ain’t.

But it’s as long. Clocking in at around 2:30, but it never dragged. Even knowing how the story played out. It left out a few key moments. But obviously Dr Dre wasn’t going to sign off on him physically abusing women. He’s too busy not releasing Detox for that.

The casting is very good. Ice Cube in particular. Which is hardly a surprise given the role is played by Ice Cube Jr. But even the small roles are spot on. There is, I think, only one scene showing a young Snoop. And he’s played perfectly. That dangerous exciting energy that a pre-superstar Snoop had. Not the weed smoking uncle of hip-hop many know him as today.

My only criticism, and this is rather personal, is that the film ended just as it got to the most interesting bit. I realise it’s the story of NWA but the Death Row Records days need a film of their own.

And when this does happen, and I assume my interest will get it greenlit, I have a casting suggestion. We need a more menacing Suge Knight. May I suggest the auditions involve actually dangling of the real Vanilla Ice from a hotel balcony.

He’d probably be willing to appear, as long as he could make a reality show about it afterwards.

👍

--

--