Joanne Tan
Thursday Alcoholics
4 min readSep 17, 2018

--

28 Hong Kong Street

Back when I was a total alcohol noob (I probably still am), Tay Kang Sheng introduced me to the idea of speakeasies – a concept which sounded super cool, like sneaking into secret, clandestine operations kinda cool…. Ok, never mind. Anyway that was how we first came to 28 Hong Kong Street, a speakeasy found in, well, literally 28 Hong Kong Street. I don’t remember so much of my first time there, except the entrance to the bar, which was a dubious, run-down looking shop-house doors, which look like it had been shut for the past 5 years or something. Now, with a greater appreciation for alcohol and cocktails than before, I had to go back to experience the No.12 in Asia’s 50 Best Bars 2018.

Don’t worry we aren’t trespassing, that’s just the entrance to a whole new world (of alcohol).

The dusty looking door led us into a low-lit, cosy bar. An bartender by the name of Jaz greeted us enthusiastically as we settled in. The bar was already reasonably crowded on this Tuesday night, although Jaz said that it was rather quiet. No matter, I prefer quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Without further ado, we jump into what we came here for.

Tay Kang Sheng decided to go for the Three Stacks, and later on the Dillmatic, and here’s what he had to say about it.

Three Stacks, with its glorious pickled vegetable sticks.

According to Jaz, Three Stacks is a twist of a classic Martini. I wasn’t surprised at all given how I was blown away by the amount of alcohol at the first mouthful. I really should have taken a smaller sip 🤭. It was pretty “Dry” (This I do not yet know how to explain) and too much for my enjoyment. Instead of olive pickles, they gave preserved carrots and turnip strips! That must be the twist! I guess that they must have put some brine from the preserved carrots and turnips instead of Olive Brine. Not that I can tell the difference, unfortunately. Three Stacks isn’t really my kind of drink, but I can imagine my (hardcore) alcoholic friends will love it!

The Dillmatic

The Dillmatic is a light, refreshing, sour and bitter drink. But where is the Dill? I was half expecting to see some Dill garnish! This drink definitely smelled very grassy, and mixed with something that I can’t quite recognise. Somehow this drink reminds me of Southside and Mojito. It’s feels like somewhere in between. It has the refreshing side of Southside, and the sourness of Mojito. The sourness hits after you swallow the drink, for some reason and don’t ask me why because I have no idea. The “Vegetable-ness” of the drink makes it totally my kind of drink, just that the sourness is a little too overwhelming for my liking.

On the other hand, I went for the fruity, tropical flavours that I love. I had a 93 Til Infinity — Encanto Pisco (a type of liquor I have never tried before) and a mix of tropical fruits. Truthfully I ordered this only because it said pineapple and I love pineapple in any form — it did not disappoint. It was a great, pineappley and refreshing drink, but unfortunately I still can’t tell the uniqueness of what Encanto Pisco would taste like. I supposed I would have to have it alone to get it… I also really appreciate that the overall taste of this cocktail was not overwhelmingly sweet since I just had some really sweet Yuzu ice cream 30 mins before we came to the bar. I would order it again if I was in a mood for something zesty and refreshing but not sweet like a dessert.

Thank you for your autograph, Jaz ;)
Let’s play Spot the Secret Bar…

The one thing we can both agree on is how we love the ambience of the bar. Cosy and quiet enough for talking, and also relaxing enough to get comfortable.

Drinks: 4/5

Ambience: 4.5/5

--

--