TDG History Line

Twenty-five years and what do you get?

Dave Volek
Tiered Democratic Governance
7 min readJul 21, 2022

--

TDG Book Cover

This year marks the 25th year I’ve been working on my alternative democracy: Tiered Democratic Governance (TDG).

Here is a quick history of this project.

My Political Days: 1986–1992

To change the world, I thought I needed to be on the inside of a political party, where my superior intellect would be of better use to the world. So I became an active member in a Canadian political party. I advanced as far as I could in the back rooms, given the on-call, out-of-town nature of my small oilfield service business. In other words, I was not that reliable for attending political meetings. I could only rise so high.

But I still attended many political meetings over the years. I slowly realized the dysfunctionalities of party politics. There was a lot of jockeying for status, influence, and power — and I was also playing this game. Everyone had an ulterior motive, and there were fewer high positions in the party than people who wanted those positions. Very competitive!

We party workers had little say in the issues, other than to agree with the party leaders. When I realized that I really didn’t have much influence in the party, I quit politics.

--

--

Dave Volek
Tiered Democratic Governance

Dave Volek is the inventor of “Tiered Democratic Governance”. Let’s get rid of all political parties! Visit http://www.tiereddemocraticgovernance.org/tdg.php