Photo Mixtape №.5

A Visual Treatment of Japan’s Wondrous Culture

Muhammad Raufan Yusup
tiket.com
4 min readNov 12, 2019

--

Kawaguchiko Station

I was born in Bandung, Indonesia in 1994 and also grew up there. But now, I’m living in Jakarta, Indonesia for work. As a Designer, I always keep looking for inspiration. Getting stuck in monotonous routines runs the risk of decreasing creativity and in February 2018, me and two of my friends said: “we should go to the big country this year, a country with a very strong culture”. And I was said, “OK, let’s go to Japan”.

Because we grew in Indonesia with a myriad of Indonesian habits, travel to Japan will be a very extreme experience. More than anything, this experience made me realize that we’re all the same, no matter where we are from, there are human values that connect us. This lesson came from an unexpected encounter with a shopkeeper when my camera was broken due to falling from my hand. I need glue to fix my camera and I directly go to a shop at that time. The shopkeeper cannot speak English and I cannot speak Japanese too, I try using google translate to speak Japanese also try to show the Japanese translation to the shopkeeper but it doesn’t work at all, the shopkeeper still doesn’t understand. But when I show my broken camera, the shopkeeper understood immediately and trying to help me as fast as possible. We are connected to each other to fix my camera even without talking! She was a stranger but her small act of kindness resulted in a cherished memory in my life.

Travel to somewhere with different cultures always been a preferred way to mentally reset. Now I’m at Jakarta doing my habits again, day-to-day all the same but Japan helped me to realize how important to respect each other. Because we are all humans, no matter what religion, ras and anything.

Here is the song that can you hear while enjoying Japan photos taken from my analog camera 🙏🏻

Thank you for reading! If you found this helpful please give 👏🏻 or you got anything to add? Please share your thoughts below.

Lastly, if you’d like to see more of my work you can visit my portfolio here or interested to collaborate? Visit my Linkedin profile to connect with me!

--

--