CAPTCHA nightmare

A.C. Flory
Tikh Tokh
Published in
1 min readAug 6, 2017

This is an example of a captcha verification screen:

I HATE CAPTCHA!

According to the official captcha website, ‘…humans can read distorted text as the one shown [above], but current computer programs can’t.’

Well, I’ve got news for you, older humans have trouble with distorted text as well. Very few of the ones I’ve had to ‘read’ were as clean and easy to read as the example shown. I guess the bots must have become smarter.

Some of us also have trouble with verification screens that ask you to click all the pictures with cars in them, or street signs, or some other stupid thing…and then make us go through screen after screen after screen after screen….

I don’t know whether it’s just my eyesight or the fact that I take instructions too literally, or not literally enough, but I have a terrible time with captcha verification screens of all sorts. And now that Amazon has started using them as well, I’m getting seriously angry. I understand that no website wants to be invaded by bots, but do they really want to drive humans away as well?

Not happy. Not happy at all.

Meeks

--

--

A.C. Flory
Tikh Tokh

Science fiction writer, gamer [mmo's], fan of Two Steps From Hell [and opera], foodie and animal lover.