The art of Japanese calligraphy inspires many

Dina Daigo
Tilikum Journal
Published in
6 min readDec 10, 2015

In the absolute silence, Sekko Daigo suddenly lifts her fat brush high in the air, and swiftly strikes it down onto an oversized sheet of rice paper. Her brush stroke moves magical as if it is dancing. She expresses a mixture of emotions. Her imagination is reflected on a piece of blank paper. She becomes breathless and mindless while concentrating on her artwork. Surrounded by the beauty and tranquility in Portland’s Japanese garden, Sekko writes a character, “tamashi,” meaning “spirit” for New Year as an audience observes her calligraphy demonstration.

In a word, Sekko Daigo is a Japanese calligraphy master.

The 76-year-old Sekko was born in Tokyo, Japan and has become a well-known calligraphy artist and has taught calligraphy to adults and children for more than 40 years. After moving to the U. S., Sekko founded her own school called “Sekko Kai” and began teaching Japanese calligraphy in Oregon. She has participated in many local events such as “kakizome,” New Year Resolution Writing at Portland Japanese Garden, and “mochitsuki,” Annual New Year Celebration at Portland State University.

Sekko is a pen name given by her grand master Sekijo Kaneda, a renowned Japanese calligraphy artist. Traditionally, only accomplished disciples in a school of calligraphy are given names by their master. After becoming a certified calligraphy instructor, she is often called “Sensei” by her students which mean teacher or master in Japanese.

Japanese calligraphy is called “Shodo”.“Sho” means writing and “do” means the way of life. “Shodo” is not just writing characters in an artistic way, but it is the way of life learned through our discipline and master of our mind. Sekko has mastered the traditional style of calligraphy as well as she developed her own modern style. The traditional styles are rigid and ancient, whereas the modern styles are creative and liberal. She enjoys both styles.

Friendly house

In the heart of the Pearl district at Friendly House, Sekko teaches her calligraphy class every Saturday afternoon. In a class, there are just ordinary tables and chairs and each student brings his or her own equipment such as rice papers, brush, ink and ink stone.

It is interesting to know that there are varieties of brushes that are crafted with the mane of horse, the mix of sheep and goat furs, and weasel furs and mouth whiskers. These brushes are used for creating different styles of calligraphy. Ink is made of pine shoots and Japanese smoky essence. Sekko explains the significance of these equipments and how to take care of them to new students.

After students finish writing characters, they hand it to Sekko. She said, “I correct their work with a red ink to demonstrate the correct balance of characters, and I commend their good work by drawing flowers around the characters when strokes are correctly stressed. I let students write until they feel content. I believe that each student learns in a different paces and capacity. My job is to bring the best of their unique talent in calligraphy. Only that person can make his or her own creation.”

Sekko’s biography

In 1970 Sekko began her quest for the ultimate beauty of Japanese art form, Shodo “the way of life” at the Academy of All Japan Calligraphic Art, and in 1974 Sekko earned mastership, and established the Sekko Calligraphy Art School. After she became a certified calligraphy instructor, she earned the professorship from the Academy of All Japan Calligraphy Art.

A year later in 1981 she became a member of council at the Academy of Japan Calligraphy Art and a member of selecting committee the Academy of Japan Calligraphy Art in 1982.

Sekko started teaching “shodo” as volunteer for Japanese magnet program at Richmond Elementary School in Portland, Oregon.

In 1993 she received Certificate of Appreciation from the principal of Richmond Elementary School and in 1994 she received Certificate of Appreciation from the City of Portland Mayor Office. Local Public Educational Organization featured her work and teaching was televised.

She also held personal exhibition at gallery at a local gallery. In 2006 she began teaching calligraphy as a part of curriculum at Richmond Elementary School. In 2007 she opened the Sekko Gallery at Bush Garden Restaurant in downtown Portland.

Sekko has participated and performed in numerous cultural events such as “kakizome” at Portland Japanese Garden and “Mochitsuki” at Portland State University. “Kakizome,” a Japanese phrase meaning “First writing of the year with a new resolution.” “Mochitsuki” literally means “pounding to make rice cake” and it is a traditional New Year celebration.

Sekko also has appeared in Oregon Art Beat , a TV program sponsored by Oregon Public Broadcasting (OPB).

Calligraphy class

Every Tuesday morning and afternoon, Sekko teaches calligraphy at her own residence. In a relaxed atmosphere, students write their calligraphy and a small class makes more personal with a teacher. She offers everyone a tea. Having a cup of Japanese green tea while drawing calligraphy, it helps students enjoy writing in tranquility.

Amy, one of her students, said, “I have been studying Japanese calligraphy with Sensei for about 2 years. I have learned the western calligraphy with a pen in the past. But I really enjoy writing with a brush because it is a totally different experience than writing with a pen.”

Another student, Paige said, “I came here because I was looking to work with an artist so that I could develop as an artist. I look in the internet all the work I saw I didn’t really care for it. I thought I don’t want to take classes from people who I am not really moved by it. And then, I accidentally I came across Sensei’s work was stunned by it. I thought was beautiful and I thought I want to study with her. I went to Saturday class and I realized that this is something I really like to do. I’m very grateful to find her. I studied with her for two and half years now.

I have many different rules, care giving rules, family related work, and this helps balance me. And all different things that I do. It is like a performance in a way. She taught me in a very settle easy way. I think to be a very driven person using Sensei to do, and to learn something with patience, repeating over and over again. I’ve also finding with my own voice on it.

I can’t tell you how she does it. But, she helps me find it and develop it. If you ask me now, I will do this until the last day of my life because this has become very important and Sensei is very important to me. I was part of this community. Most people are from Japan. I appreciate that they welcome me, and I am a part of this. It is important part of my life.”

One of Sekko’s old students, Sachiko said, “I am very happy because my teacher is great. During the time of the class I can sooth my mind and focus. And I have the opportunity for 2 hours.”

Sekko’s vision for the future

“I want to continue my career as a calligraphy artist as long as I can hold a brush in my hand. But I’m getting old and I sometimes think about leaving my legacy to somebody who has a passion to carry on the traditional Japanese calligraphy art,” Sekko said. “I hope I can contribute to bridge a friendship between Japan and the U. S. through my artwork, and continue to touch upon people’s heart”

Full disclosure: Sekko Daigo is the writer’s mother-in-law. For more photos of Sekko’s work, please see our slideshow:

--

--