3 Books That Changed My Life

Katja Borger
tilted
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2022

Books are a really important part of my life. From reading to listening, I almost always have a book on hand. Here are the three top books that changed my life.

Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Essentialism, Greg McKeown

Anyone who knows me already knows that I will quote this book all day long. This book teaches you how to “do better by doing less”.

I read Essentialism when I was just starting in the professional world. Interestingly enough, I almost stopped reading it a quarter of the way through because I thought it only related to those who were years ahead of me. My mentor, however, told me that I had to stick with it and boy was it worth it!

Reading Essentialism was one of the pivotal points in my life. I gained so much confidence and self-assurance. I highly recommend reading it at least twice in your life. When you are just starting out and again when you are a few years into your career

Start With Why, Simon Sinek

Start With Why was another book that I found to be a turning point in my life.

This book asks the fundamental question; What makes some organizations and people more innovative, profitable, and influential than others.

With real-life examples such as Apple and Dell, Simon Sinek teaches you the importance of knowing your “Why”.

Before I read this book, I was doing things that “made sense” in my career without a true purpose for doing them. Start With Why taught me to always know the purpose or the “why” in what I was doing and the direction I want my life to go.

12 Rules for Life, Jordan Peterson

The most recent book I read, 12 Rules for Life takes you outside of the business world and tackles the workings of your everyday life.

Jordan Peterson goes through life’s most pressing issues and concerns that have been present in the human psyche since ancient times.

This book is an exceptional self-help manual that lays out a set of principles that can help us become more disciplined and balance our lives while enjoying them as much as we can.

Honorable mention

As an honorable mention, I would like to include Atomic Habits by James Clear. Changing the way I performed everyday tasks, Atomic Habits challenged me to become more productive one small habit at a time.

This book is split into four main steps. (1) How can I make it obvious, (2) how can I make it attractive, (3) how can I make it easy, and (4) how can I make it satisfying.

Conclusion

These books I’ve listed have all helped me in some immense way shape or form. Whether it be a physical book or audiobook, I highly recommend reading as one of the key ways to learn.

--

--

Katja Borger
tilted
Editor for

Podcaster| Praxis | Freelance Marketing |Chelsea F.C