End of the week…

David Kilian
Time is of the Essence
2 min readSep 30, 2017

It’s been a long week. Not any longer than any other week, it just feels this way every week. And at the end of each week, I feel the same way. It’s finally time for me to relax and take a day or two for myself. I think that it is good to give yourself days like these. No work, no responsibilities, just a whole lot of time for yourself to do what you want. In my case, that involves mostly napping.

Okay, so as you know if you’ve been keeping up with my posts, I have been trying different techniques to help me overcome my time management issues. Well, I would say that I found them to be rather effective. As I look into the future,the only real struggle I can see myself having is actually carrying out these strategies from week to week.

I was reading an eBook earlier today written by Jane B. Burka , and Lenora M. Yuen, titled “ Procrastination : Why You Do It, What to Do About It Now”. The book is split into two halves, the first being understanding procrastination, and the second, overcoming it. There was a part in the second section of the book that stood out to me.

“ When you try to practice these suggestions, you will probably have a push/pull relationship with them; you’ll encounter resistance and make excuses, just as you have with other tasks. We encourage you to pay close attention to how you approach these reasonable, effective approaches to change because resistance does not have to be your enemy; it can be transformed into an ally.”

As I was talking about earlier, how I can only really see myself struggling with continuing these strategies for weeks to come, the above quote put that feeling into words for me. There was plenty of times throughout this week where I wanted to put off certain tasks and such, but for the sake of the assignment, I finished them anyway. But after this week, when I don’t have the grade for this assignment as incentive, what’s going to make create a to-do list, or what’s going to make me finish tasks in my free time at school? It is definitely going to be hard, put I hope that I can keep up with these practices because they are useful and efficient. I need to keep up with these because it is important that I develop healthy study habits for my own future success. It will be helpful in school, business, my jobs, and life in general.

Come back tomorrow to see my results of the past week!

Burka, J. B., & Yuen, L. M. (2007, April 2). Procrastination : Why You Do It, What to Do About It Now [Web log post]. Retrieved September 30, 2017, from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/buffalo/reader.action?docID=903521

--

--