Introduction

Quan Ye
Time Management Skill
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

The skill that I am planning to research is time management, the process of planning and exercising conscious control of time spent on specific activities, especially to increase effectiveness, efficiency or productivity. This skill is important to me because people nowadays tend to procrastinate their works resulting to be less productive. As a student, procrastination is always around me, I will procrastinate until the deadline and bring out those not qualitative works at the last minute. Therefore, this skill hacking blog helps me to understand how should I focus on managing myself as much as I focus on managing my time. Anyone who suffers procrastination will benefit from my findings especially students, workers, and employees. We can come up with the strategies to manage our time efficiently and be able to produce higher quality works.

There are some questions that I would like to answer through this project such as what is the mindset we need to have when we are doing work. What are the steps that we need to take to manage time? Is setting up a calendar really help to manage ourselves?

My ultimate goal for the end of this project is to figure out how to manage my time wisely and produce quality work. I will be watching if I still finish my work until the deadline or do with my works several days before the deadline. Do I still get stress when I try to complete my works? These will be my measurement of the progress.

The first step to achieve my goal is to keep notes on what I do when I do it, and how long it takes. Tracking my daily activities will help me to manage my time better so that I know what to do and what to avoid doing. Then, I should work on how to avoid task hopping. It is important for me to focus on a single task because I always get distracted by other things such as phone message and social media etc. It is important to develop a self-reinforcing behavior so that I can get used to focus on a single task. These are the steps that I can currently think of. Through this project, I hope to find more useful strategies to help me develop a better time management skill.

--

--