The Relevance of Time Management Skills in the World of Finance

People may wonder about those who work on Wall Street or in the finance sector how one can 70–80 hour work weeks and still have time for themselves and how they can handle the workload. A simple answer is that they possess very good time management skills.

I am currently a Finance student attending the University at Buffalo’s School of Management. I have chosen the topic on Time Management skills because it is a skill that’s very important to have when going into the financial services industry. I have seen first-hand how vital such a skill is to have and how it can help advance an individual’s career.

Wall Street workers come into the office and trading floors fully prepared to take on the day. They know exactly what they are going to do a set time and organize their tasks and responsibilities even if they are miniscule tasks. Those in the finance sector and on Wall Street are not the type of individual who procrastinate and waste time. This is an industry that doesn’t sleep and the workload can bury a person without the proper skillset.

Half of what it takes to possess excellent time management skills is through sticking to the routine habits that make you more productive, and routines are largely a matter of personal preference. There is no such thing as one element that makes a person an expert on this subject. It requires many different aspects practiced over a period of time and depends on the specific individual.

My hope is that I can develop such a skill. My time management skills have been subpar lately. With so many distractions around me one could label me as a procrastinator at times. I hope to learn more about how I am able to manage my time better to become a more efficient student and prepare myself to enter the workforce.

I will practice this skill through focusing on what is most important that I need completed in a specific timeframe, reflect on what works and what doesn’t so that the skill becomes easy to add to my current routine. I will strive to plan ahead more often so I am not as forgetful when it comes to remembering what I need done and need to do next regarding my college studies. I hope to implement my findings into my everyday life so that I don’t develop the wrong habits during my career in the financial sector. Trial and error can only determine what strategy will work best for me.

--

--