Everything in Moderation….including moderation.

Trevor Simonick
Time Management101
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2017

It is the weekend, where I was able to catch up on my own soft-skill evaluation and note room for improvement. In my last blog I mentioned how it is important to catch up on rest, and to relax during this time after a hectic initial week; However, I almost feel as if this advice backfired on myself because I may have taken this idea too literal, and ending up getting caught behind for the following week. All day Saturday I had to work a wedding at my country club job, so there were no thoughts of, “planning for the upcoming week.” Sunday afternoon rolls around, and I’m planted on the couch for hours watching my Buffalo Bills take care of the Atlanta Falcons, along with 10 other games being played. Again, here I am with no thought process of weekly structuring, almost like all the progress I made the previous week was gone. I feel as if this experience was the most important one during my skill-improvement process, because I learned the most from this. You can’t go a whole week with a solid plan and structure, and then when the weekend rolls around, completely forget about it. Yes, balance in life is key, but that aspect itself is part of the developing time management skill. Finding a balance with leisure time and work time is almost as important as the time being taken to plan and structure your day. I learned the hard way that you can’t throw everything you’ve been working on, out the window on the weekend. That is a definitely a proper time for relaxation and recharge, but it can also be the down time where planning can be done the easiest. Don’t just use your weekends to create the perfect Fantasy Football lineup, but also use this time to take a step back, analyze your improvements and adjust where needed.

--

--