It is not your way or the highway

Trevor Simonick
Time Management101
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2017

Consistently preaching about what I believe helps individuals better manage their time can only go so far. I thought it was appropriate to research blogs and websites to learn from others on how I can better advise through my own time management blogs. It is naïve, in any aspect in life, to think that your way of figuring out a problem is the only way. I came across a blog written by Brian Tracy called, “4 Mental Exercises to Increase Your Time Management.” Brian’s main point that he wanted to get across was that time management is no more than the choices that you make. “You choose to be efficient or you choose to be disorganized,” Tracey states in his blog, with the concept of having to overcome your previous mental programming. I couldn’t agree more with this idea as I think most things in life are based off one’s mental approach towards it. Tracy’s first tip is to “use positive affirmations” day after day, by almost tricking your brain to actually believe you are a good time manager. This little trick is considered Brian Tracy’s more important tip when improving this skill. He concludes with, “You will then find that your external behaviors will start to reflect your internal programming to improve your work-life balance and quality of life.” In this blog, Brian Tracy also mentions how mediation and relaxation are key to maintaining balance. To be honest, I have yet to try this tactic, but more than just Tracy’s blog has stated this as being a very beneficial tip. I thought that looking at other blogs and reading other first hand experiences, really widens your scope with different ways to improve. Before my next blog post, I sincerely plan to attempt mediation and I am excited to share this experience!

--

--