Time to start managing your time…

Trevor Simonick
Time Management101
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

My name is Trevor Simonick, a driven 23-year-old finance major intent, with poor time management skills. I chose to write about a soft skill in time management because I believe it’s very important for most, if not all, graduating students to be conscious and looking to improve their skill in this aspect. I also believe that I, myself, lack this skill significantly with regards to handling my daily tasks efficiently. In today’s society, everything is fast-paced and on the go, we rarely have time to plan out our whole day. We walk around like zombies holding our phones, always moving on to the next daily task, with no actual plan or, “next-step” moving forward. Improving one’s time management skills can increasingly yield positive benefits, whether it be one’s career or personal life. Having a thorough plan on how to attack the day with segmented scheduling for each task, can ONLY provide benefit to one’s ever-so-increasing daily life. In relations to work, time management is crucial when being presented with many tasks or objectives that need to be completed during a day. If just once one took the time to prepare and properly schedule their tasks beforehand, I truly believe they would see a significant benefit. Benefit including; more time on their hands to review any work, a feeling of structure before the day, and then a feeling of accomplishment after the day’s work is complete. I believe that, just like any other skill, with practice and repetition one can greatly increase their workplace efficiently and become more successful and valuable to a company. I do not think a mentor or coach is needed in this aspect, as much as simply just taking the time to prepare and plan for whatever the task may be.

--

--