Step Three

Morgan Gumhalter
Time&Patience
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2017

As we go through the steps and processes of time management, you have to keep up with those priorities you thought of earlier. Thinking about changing your life through managing your time better is the easy part; it’s the planning and strategizing part that’s harder.

Planning

Many people have excuses as to why they ignore time management. The number one excuse is “I don’t have time to plan.” How ironic. People with that excuse (probably most of us at some point) have yet to place a meaningful value on planning. A few more excuses include “I already have an idea of what needs to be done,” “Planning has never worked in my favor,” and “I don’t know how.” These excuses are really not true; if you purposely set aside time to start planning, then that’s just the first task that needs done (Smith,1994, p. 99–102).

Prioritization is key to getting things done. If you list things in order of importance, you’re more likely to understand and note the deadlines. For example, I rely heavily on my planner during school. I write down assignments faithfully because 1) I don’t want to forget an assignment, and 2) by writing it down, I know it is an important task that needs to get finished. I also write the assignments down on their due date and write the specific time it is due on each one. Smith (1994, p. 115–116) said the first simple rule to controlling your life is to carry your planner with you all the time. My planner is my best friend right now, especially with the college workload. Smith (1994, p.116) also said “…maybe you have a brilliant idea for a new product and you don’t want to lose that thought before you get back to the office.” I hate when I think of a great idea but I don’t have anything with me to write it down. Once I think of the idea again, I won’t remember what it was, which is really disappointing.

Once you can commit to planning, all there is next is to follow through. Getting in a routine of using a planner is difficult, but once you get a routine started, it’s hard to forget to use it.

Smith, H. W. (1994). The 10 natural laws of successful time and life management: proven strategies for increased productivity and inner peace. New York, NY: Warner Books.

--

--