Embracing a part-time minimalist lifestyle

Brooke Lawler
OnPrio
Published in
4 min readSep 17, 2016

I have always been so attracted to the minimalist lifestyle, except I thought it meant having 1 pair of out-dated jeans (slightly baggy and poorly fitting on the butt) and like 5 black t-shirts, or really boring house decor. So I’ve neglected to make it a mainstream part of my life.

Perhaps that is why I love to camp (or as my mom would say, “pretending to be homeless”). There is something so attractive about just bringing the essentials.

I’d say 4 years ago, I would pride myself on the ability to camp with almost all the luxuries of home. We’re talking acrylic wine goblets, nice table cloths, candles, real plates, and an air mattress with official bedding. You would think I was about to throw a bridal shower.

But recently, things have changed. Matt and I have been on a mission to de-clutter our lives. It’s a long process and one in which requires some major soul searching to understand the WHY for our attachment to so many possessions. With the aid of some good literature, and web resources, we’re going to make it.

Now when I go camping, I challenge myself to see how little I can pack and re-purpose for multiple uses.

Two Products I Live For: COCONUT OIL & CASTILLE SOAP.

These my friends, are the most multi-purpose beauty, cleaning, and cooking weapons you will ever find. Here’s just a few ways I use them:

Coconut Oil: cooking and marinade, moisturizer for literally every part of the body, chapstick, Fin’s diaper rash, hair conditioner, mouth rinse.

Castille Soap: hand-wash, face-wash, shampoo, mopping floors, spot treatment, muti-purpose cleaner. You name it, it cleans it.

I have resolved to just buy vats of Coconut Oil and Castille soap and get rid of almost every other beauty and cleaning product in my house (save Ajax, Vinegar and makeup of course).

Full admission, I am sitting in a FILTHY house right now, choosing to write this post, instead of cleaning and de-cluttering. But you know what, that’s OK. Minimalism isn’t about being spotless and pristine, it’s more about Essentialism.

“The Way of the Essentialist isn’t about getting more done in less time. It’s not about getting less done. It’s about getting only the right things done.”

-Greg McKeown

For me, writing this post while enjoying my coffee (and ignoring the mess), is the most essential thing I could be doing right now.

I have recently joined a 30-day email program with No Sidebar, called Design a Simple Life, and it has been pretty eye opening. Here’s some of the the key learnings from the program thus far:

  1. Embracing minimalism is about freedom more than anything else.
  2. It’s all about gratitude. Plain and simple, if you’re truly mindful and thankful for what you have, this will squelch the constant need for more.
  3. Unplug from time to time. Digital clutter can be worse than physical clutter.
  4. Frugality (ugh, the “F” word), is not about being cheap or clipping coupons, is more rooted in needing less verse finding deals. This was freeing for me to hear. I am not the best saver, but have decided that if I can cut out the things I think I need, the extra money will appear…right?
  5. Creating white space in your schedule (and your mind) allows you to pursue what matters, and really be creative.
  6. List it out. The idea of formal journaling never really stuck with me. But I can write lists like a mopro. But instead of just drafting task lists, I am now using a list journal to track down dreams, goals, and things that make me happy.

As I work to progressively de-clutter my home over the next few months, I ask myself one simple question to determine what to keep vs. toss:

Does this bring me joy?

I like dishes and glassware, I have 2 sets of every-day plates, and then 2 china cabinets full of China, Crystal and Tea-Cups, plus all sorts of wine and margarita glasses (priorities). But these things bring me joy because I associate them with the ability to host family and friends. These don’t clutter my cognitive space as the million Mugs or Tea boxes do…so they’re going to stay.

One final note, I HATE organization. My goal is to be able to streamline my possessions enough that it’s not about how many bins or systems for organization are set up, things can just go into open drawers and simple closets, and not burst at the seams. I am a firm believer that organizing just masks the issue of not dealing with the harder questions of fulfillment, and determining what we really need to make us happy in this life.

Stay tuned for more updates on my journey to becoming a part-time minimalist (I am sure you’re all very excited to hear more!).

Time to go clean. :/

On a recent camping trip to Refugio, we did a 5 mile, round-trip hike to El Capitan, set up our hammock and enjoyed some cuddles and ocean views.

--

--

Brooke Lawler
OnPrio
Editor for

Aspiring mindful mother, wife, semi hippy, and business-woman trying to constantly prioritize what matters. See more musings on LinkedIn. https://bit.ly/ #Admom