Restlessness

Timothy
Timothytt
Published in
1 min readJun 19, 2017

Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers his way, over the man who carries out evil devices. –Psalm 37:7

God, I confess I am often restless — seeking righteousness in everything but you. I am constantly chasing productivity and the acknowledgement of others. I bite my fingernails down to the cuticle as I allow anxiety to drive me to despair. With envy, I look at what others have instead of being grateful for what you have given me.

Forgive me Father for abandoning your rest and seeking my own. I thank you that you own everything and you have made everything good. I thank you for sharing everything with me as an adopted son through your son’s sacrifice.

Because I have everything I need in you, help my mind, soul, and body to remain still and satisfied in your presence. Father, I trust you to provide all that I need today. And I even believe you will give me the desires of my heart. My desire is you Lord.

Come, overwhelm me with your great love today Father as I rest in you.

--

--

Timothy
Timothytt

Full-time husband. African American Studies, Sociology and Economics teacher. Track and Cross Country coach. Professional Amatuer. Timothytt.com/