5 Eye-opening Lessons I’ve Learned After Finding and Losing My Soulmate

As it turned out, my life didn’t begin and didn’t end with my soulmate like the movies make it out to be.

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind

--

Some time ago, I met my soulmate. We didn’t just feel immensely drawn to each other; we also liked each other as the individual we were. We shared the same values. We looked at life in similar ways.

Every time we talked, online or offline, it was always the same positive energy binding us together — we made each other laugh like we were kids again. We were sexually, emotionally, spiritually compatible.

It was also the first time I could say I was in love with a man for real. Well, I don’t dare to claim I know what “love” is but no other word was appropriate to describe the strong feelings I had.

Unfortunately, we couldn’t be together. When this realisation sank in, it was one of the lowest points of my life. I literally cried every day for more than a month. I was practically a walking mess.

At one point I thought I would never get over the pain but thankfully, I managed to get to the other side and found joy in my life again.

It wasn’t easy but in retrospect, it was good for me. This event taught me many things about love…

--

--

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.