5 Tips on How to Avoid Codependency in Relationships

Maintain your me-time

Anggun Bawi
Loveful Mind

--

You’ve probably heard people say that the more committed a relationship is, the more inseparable it should be. This means you and your partner are doing everything together and leave no space for a “me time.”

When I was in high school, I used to think this is the best way to maintain a relationship, and peers around me are doing it the same. But over time, I realize this isn’t what a healthy relationship work.

Being codependent has a higher risk to ruin the relationship you are in.

Actions such as focusing too much on your relationship with no hobby, never let your partner have some space alone, or demanding non-stop communication while it’s clear there’s nothing more to talk about anymore.

If you’ve been one of those partners, maybe it’s time to change it. I admit it’s not easy but trust me that being independent in your relationship can make you even more attractive and become a better partner.

Here are some practical tips that have worked for me in the past to change my codependent issue:

1. Work on Your Career.

--

--

Anggun Bawi
Loveful Mind

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦