7 Tips to Avoid Texting Anxiety When You Have An Anxious Attachment Style

No, you don’t need to pretend you’re chill.

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind

--

Photo by Taisiia Stupak on Unsplash

When I was anxiously attached, texting was one of my biggest problems.

I was both hooked on it and scared of it.

Whenever I heard that ping sound, my heart accelerated, but when my texts went unanswered or someone’s profile picture suddenly disappeared, indicating they might have blocked me, I panicked.

Dating became extremely difficult. I overthought every text exchange while thinking everything that went wrong was my fault. I felt deeply ashamed of my anxious behaviours, yet trapped by my obsession with texting.

Now that I’m emotionally secure and in a happy committed relationship after a year of therapy, I can see clearly how I could’ve done differently back then to reduce my texting anxiety.

Here are 7 tips to make texting work for you as an anxiously attached person:

1. Make “bad texting” a dealbreaker.

Let me be frank: Being bad at texting either means having a low need for communication in general or simply having a low interest in you. Either way, it’s not going to work for you.

--

--

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.