A Lesson From an Old Lady Who Never Said a Word

A Tiny Life Moment that made me stop and think

Keno Ogbo
Tiny Life Moments

--

Photo by Armin Lotfi on Unsplash

The moment

I walked past an old lady barely ten minutes ago.

She stood in the alcove of a charity shop hunched over a red and blue chequered shopping trolley, fitting a hand into a white pair of gloves. Her face was ashen, eyes worried. She seemed panicked, alone. As I strode past, a familiar heaviness descended and my eyes brimmed with a tear that would not drop. I was burdened with her fear.

In that moment, I knew why.

It was a word. A word that has been memes, tweets, videos, fake news, merchandise, jokes, political bashing and more. But to the old lady in the doorway, the word meant just one thing. Coronavirus. That word was death to her.

The Reflection

It was a warm sunny spring day. Heaven’s golden smile was lit, colours of flowers responded. Not many people around, bu there were smile and snippets on conversation chasing in the wind. I sauntered down the street on my way to the local library. Lockdown was on Monday, and I planned to get as many books as I could to keep me company.

All was well with the world. I had stocked up on biscuits, chocolates, crisps and Earl Grey tea. I wasn’t…

--

--

Keno Ogbo
Tiny Life Moments

A stochastic writer, delving into life, tech and fiction. Writing from her West African background, she tackles old issues with a fresh perspective.