Why You Should Never Leave the Ring

A Tiny Life of Moment of “Stay in There and Finish What You Started”

Josh Kiev
Tiny Life Moments

--

https://www.freeimages.com/photo/disk-space-1426057

The Moment

As a former collegiate discus thrower, I had big aspirations. One of them was to make the NCAA Championships, otherwise known as “the show.” I had gone through ups and downs in my career but was in good shape going into my last track meet in Virginia.

Was I one of the top-ranked throwers in the country? No, but as they say, it only takes one. One throw. One shot. One time. Grip it and rip it.

After my last meet ever, something terrible transpired. I was sitting with teammates, away from the track, and the Head Coach came over and looked at me with absolute disbelief and said “What Happened?”

The Reflection-What happened at that final meet

The longest ride back home to campus, cramped in a van, having to reflect on that tiny little moment. That’s what happened!

Did I get injured? Was I narrowly defeated? Did I fail to register any legal throws? None of the above.

In field events, you are given three preliminary throws and the top eight, sometimes ten, advance to the final round. My first three throws were subpar in my mind and I had convinced…

--

--

Josh Kiev
Tiny Life Moments

Actor. Chef. Philosopher. Never Surrender-er. https:///www.joshkiev.com