With a Little Help from Red Lipstick

A Tiny Life Moment of brightness in the midst of pain and Day 6 of my 100 day writing challenge

Keno Ogbo
Tiny Life Moments

--

Photo by Mary Huckle (used with permission)

The Moment

Scrolling mindlessly through Facebook. I stop at the picture of a friend. A portrait. Short wavy silver hair face framed an elfish face, overlaying an undercurrent of charcoal-grey hair. Eyes looking straight-through, filled with a mysterious force, a power that crashed a thousand shores, on rocks, cliffs, stones and gently on golden sands. Skin, eternally kissed as only the sky, clouds, sun, moon and winds could kiss. Daily, tenderly, harshly, yet always with passion. Like the ocean rumbling, never ending motion, calm yet deep. Mary’s picture spoke volumes, many volumes intensified in a single term — Metastases Cancer . For her, secondary breast metastases. But one thing shone out of the picture, her bright red lipstick.

It spoke and was heard.

The Reflection

I met Mary Huckle, sometime in 2012, a few months after I started teaching Zumba and promoting my classes. Vague memories, but I think we either rented the same fitness facilities, or met at an event. The details elude me, but the substance of our acquaintance remains with me today. Mary was one of the kindest, most supportive people I knew…

--

--

Keno Ogbo
Tiny Life Moments

A stochastic writer, delving into life, tech and fiction. Writing from her West African background, she tackles old issues with a fresh perspective.