the plane window view of remembrance

Fox Kerry
Tiny Myths
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2014

--

I will not forget. . .

How you gave me the remembrance and the courage and the discipline and the fortitude to save that man’s life as he hopped around the house in need of air and we expelled the food that kept his needy lungs from air.

How you let me wrap my arms around that violent young man, in use of your name of power, and kept him from harming himself and others with the spirit of anger that wanted to maim.

How you moved me from community to community, or else my lonely, self-destructive soul would have died.

How you gave me pause to notice the ones who were dying with no friend.

How you set my mind on treasures that will last in your Kingdom.

How you extended my life and my sanity when I dug my knees into the soil of cement to find a way to cope the world of the tornado I found myself inside of.

How you copiloted my desperate attempts to walk into performances and events with nothing on my lips but “into your hands I commit my spirit”.

How you handed a friend the book which proved you wanted to meet with me in the Great Northwest

How you said to me “I never promised you those things.”

How you readied my soul for the death of a friend

How you warned my soul of the visitation of a person who would hurt me

How you always guided me to water and quiet places when I set on the road to get alone with you

how you let me pursue that woman of strength and beauty, to be in her eyes for a while, how you left that breadcrumbs that led me to her.

how you sent gentle hands, even from strange places, when I was most terrified and panicked and starving for affection

How you put your voice and your ways right before me in the words and actions of friends who shine brightly as obviously lit by your spirit, just when I would otherwise give up, and say that You have left this world

You refuse to let me easily forget You. And that is the only reason that my soul goes on, and not just this body of earthly lust.

--

--

Fox Kerry
Tiny Myths

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.