Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

Trying not to do boring content

I need to write some SEO content for a directory side hustle, but I don’t want it to just be more “blah blah AI” content.

Mark Bowley
Published in
2 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Roughly 3 months ago I launched a directory side hustle experiment called Free AI Apps.

This is an SEO type of experiment, so I see it as a longer term ‘small bet’. I’m even targeting specific keywords, based on the validation framework promoted by buildthekeyword.com.

For content, so far I’ve added about 150 apps. Plenty as a good start. But for it to do well in SEO, it will need blog content too. It needs to answer the search intent, which is mostly people looking to discover free AI tools.

You know what though? There’s so much noise around AI at the moment, I really don’t want to add to it with more general “blah blah AI” content.

I’ve started experimenting with ‘app generated content’

So, what to do instead? I’ve started experimenting with ‘app generated content’. By this I mean using the generative AI tools in the directory to create some SEO content.

One simple way of doing that is something like an interview with the app itself:

  1. Talk to the AI chat apps in the directory
  2. Ask about use cases for their specific tool
  3. Publish the transcripts (or snippets) as blog posts

Also, I could use the image or video tools to create content (but they’re less useful for SEO) and so on, depending on the type of AI tool.

Given that the directory is targeted at non-technical or beginner AI users, I feel like having these ‘normal language’ summaries could help answer search intent.

We’ll see how it goes in a few months.

For more like this, you might like to follow Tiny SEO Lessons on Medium.

I’m Mark, a creator and solopreneur in the UK. I write on Medium and create resources to help others get their own ideas started.

--

--

Mark Bowley
Tiny SEO Lessons

I write about building online, leveraging design, nocode, SEO and AI. For more from me, join my newsletter at https://markbowley.beehiiv.com