Change

Gandhy morillo
tiny wrecking ball
Published in
2 min readNov 19, 2019

Sometimes the hardest part is to accept the permanent change.

I remember those last days before my first crisis. I did this challenge with some of my coworkers to see who lose more weight than the other. It was almost 5,000 pesos (around 100 dollars), but to us, it was a lot of money. Me, the gym and learning to eat paleo.

I cook a lot of my meals, not like my co-workers who used to live with their parents, it was a lot of work for me, and I kept noticing how difficult it started being. Every day, more and more difficult, and then I start feeling really sick and tired.

In those moments there is no time to waste and you just don't think about something permanent, because in your mind, being sick is just a moment in the timeline of your life, it will fade with a couple of pills, it will wash away with a day in the hospital.

The realization that something is constant, that being sick is constant! That is a change. Then, that little word called uncurable starts coming in your head like fresh popcorn in a cast iron pan. Just like that, the word permanent gets assign to the word body and sick.

--

--