Disability Placard

Gandhy morillo
tiny wrecking ball
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2019

Application for Disabled Parking Placard

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com

I have to confess I was kind of embarrassed asking of this benefit, not because I don't feel I need it, but more of a guilty(?).

I ask my primary care doctor, she was very nice about it, and the same day she fill out the form. The doctor does need to have handy the NPI number and the Board of registration in Medicine number.

All the information you can find it in this link.

Remember it can take up to 30 business days to get your placard or plate, processing time varies based upon application volume.

Fees

The placard if free and a plate has a cost of 60 dollars.

Where to deliver your form

There are two ways:

By mail and In person

In the link, you can find all the information about the address and if you want to go in person these are somethings to remember:

  • Hours for Boston (Haymarket) RMV Service Center Monday — Friday: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
  • Parking at Boston (Haymarket) RMV Service Center There is no on-site parking, however, there is limited street parking and parking available in local parking garages.

What happens if someone approaches you and complaint about faking your placard?

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)protects you from this kind of disturbances, is good to know that you can call the police if someone tries to hurt you or damage your car.

If that person tells you that will file a Parking Abuse Complaint Form Disability Parking Placards and Plates try to stay calm and remember that this person will never know your personal information and they never get information about the result of the complaint. Additionally, you can file a demand since the form established:

I certify under the penalty of perjury that the information I have provided is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

We are safe and we have rights. You can find more about this here:

I personality print a sticker like this and stick it to my car:

Invisible Disability icon used source: Shutterstock
  • You can download it here

In addition, I have a copy of my application in my car just in case something gets crazy.

Good to know

  • You don't need SSN for this benefit, just get a denial letter from your social security office.
  • License is not necessary for this application
  • If you are not sure about if you have an invisible illness check this list:

Penalties

It is very important to know how serious it is having a placard and the consequences of disrupting it.

Here is the downloadable document of penalties:

Download here

Empowerment

IISC engaged artist Angus Maguire

I love this image, I just really love it, we all need to understand that this laws and benefits only help us to compensate the acts of life of trying to get us down. So thankful for all the people that advocate for more laws like this and educators that make awareness about the laws and the importance of it.

I love how this girl talks about it and make an amazing statement

--

--