Ready or Not (2019)

spookyjess
tinyhorror
Published in
1 min readSep 5, 2019

Expectations:

I was completely expecting this film to feel adventurous and fun. The trailers piqued my interest as I wondered how they’d get away with something like this.

Reality:

I ended up really enjoying the movie. I feel strongly that if You’re Next and Final Girls hooked up and made a baby, this movie would be it. There is plenty of gore and humor to go along with the very interesting plot line. You’ll find yourself asking, “but...how?” until the end, which I personally enjoy. I like stories that keep you wondering, but because there are great characters and visuals, it’s not a negative.

There is a lot of witty and fun banter and a lot of room to laugh. I’m not sure this movie is pushed all the way into the “horror comedy” sub-genre, but it’s certainly close. The level of gore and chase in the movie is perfect, too. The acting was well-done, and who doesn’t love a badass woman defending herself in a white dress? ::cough::LEIA::cough::

Do yourself a favor and watch this movie. Let’s give more attention to the films that can both make us cringe and smile for a full hour and a half.

--

--