Make Me Think about Tailoring My Text

Craig Sorby
TIO Labs
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2015

To Amuse:

Hello, my name is Craig and I live in Bemidji, Minnesota — the land of Paul Bunyan and Babe the Blue Ox. Granted, I live in one of Minnesota’s most beautiful regions; however, I was afflicted with wanderlust at a young age and I am at my happiest when heading out for adventure. Be that by plane, train, automobile, or even by foot, I love a traveling life. I require no fancy destination, I am simply happy to be traveling and meeting new people, or sometimes getting away from them too. I suspect in a previous life I may well have been a hobo and if it were not for a developed taste for life’s creature comforts, I could see me ridin the rails today! However, with that being said, I have become quite fond of coffee and beginets on the balcony, so no hobo’s life for me!

Knife River Indian Village.

To Teach:

Hello, my name is Craig and I have a true passion for adventure. My wife and I make the best of every free moment we can muster by striking out for whatever point of the compass beckons. We have found one of the best ways to enjoy and explore America is to fly to a particular destination, rent a car, and hit the road. Hint, or suggestion: Search online for cheap fares and cheap rental car options and let that dictate which direction you will go. Not all of us can afford to fly first class to Cancun; however, a round trip airline ticket from Minneapolis to Dallas is currently less than $200, and we have rented cars for as long as ten days with unlimited mileage for $230 (tax included)! On this travel in March 2015 we will see Dallas, Austin, San Antonio, the Gulf coast, The Big Easy, and back to Dallas. Travel can be expensive, but it doesn't have to be — totally up to you.

Traveling throughout America can be educational as well as entertaining, in fact I would argue that the two terms are synonymous in regards to travel. Some would say, “a mud hut — oh boy, what’s next, the worlds largest ball of lint?” Obviously everybody’s tastes are going to be different, but I believe my travel philosophy works as well for Orlando, FL (land O’Disney) as it does for exploring the middle of North Dakota and experiencing places such as the Knife River Indian Village. Pick a central location, do an online search for sites and things to do and have at it. Travel smart: Find discounts (there are many), meet local folks and ask the for things to do or see, or seek out that wonderful little hidden “local’s” restaurant. Be flexible: That may be a tad tougher with children, but it can still be done.

Natural Bridge Park in northern Alabama.

To Become More Aware:

Hello, my name is Craig and I love to travel. I have been fortunate enough through past work and leisure trips to be able to visit all fifty states a couple times over. Of course I've had time on my side, unfortunately I think that’s the other way around now, but being middle aged (hey, fifty-ish is the new thirty) I've been able to put a few miles on over the years. I have traveled a fair amount of the world as well, but I find travel in the United States to be a most wonderful experience. There are so many fabulous places to see that can be done at minimal expense, and generally there isn't any language barriers to deal with, except maybe in Alabama or Mississippi — said the fellow from Minnesota. However, translators are available online. Part of my travel blog will be showcasing the marvels right here in our own country’s backyard.

Mr Helper?

Hi, my name is Craig and I would love to assist fellow travelers with the ins and outs of traveling the United States. I have traveled across America extensively over the years and perhaps I may be of assistance. Regardless if you are a seasoned traveler or a newbie with a wanderer’s heart, I would love to help put you on the right trail, or simply provide you with a sound tip or two. So, if your are anywhere from Maine to southern California, or Seattle to Miami and looking for advice; well, I am here for you. If I cannot come up with anything legitimate I will at least come up with a good story.

--

--

Craig Sorby
TIO Labs
Writer for

Retired Coast Guard, BFA Major, love to cook, love to write!