4our Introductions

Joel V
TIO Labs
Published in
4 min readJan 26, 2015

My name is Joel. I am a Leo who likes long walks on the beach/frozen waterway with a canine companion. I’m a sucker for beat poetry, bop jazz and paperback westerns. I easily get sidetracked when dealing with an online medium finding myself revisiting lists that pointlessly rank things I care not for paying in money or time to visit or experience. Sometimes a good day is one void of memes. I have however through the internet amassed a wealth of unemployable information from forest area by state in the US to comparative religion and what brands of cigarettes trended through music/literary enclaves the last near century. I am an armchair adherent to Ludd and Ed Abbey in their resilience to push for humanity in the face of technologies expanding territory for the sake that there are lessons in the wild. I hope I into multiple categories in the below template.

My name is Joel. Stretching in the tradition from Theophratus and Demitrius (disciples of Aristotle) til now, I enjoy emphasizing style in any manner from grand style to low/plain style. William S. Burroughs plays with the concept of obscuritas in his earlier works while rewriting possible historical interpretations that situate his fiction not only within the genre but in the very criticism his work incites. Invention and relation to the surrounding work plays a major role in the interpretation it receives. “Would a Rose smell as sweet if by another name?” I don’t know but it might depend upon the way it carries itself or merely what vase it is in.

My name is Joel. I enjoy being in the outdoors. Really, many people describe themselves as enjoying doing things outdoors but have logged more time on Netflix than they have turning grass into a beaten path. I worked out in Porcupine, SD on the Pine Ridge Reservation last year. There were foot paths that could take you between districts (read villages) at lengths of 5 miles when it may take 12 by automobile. I transitioned from canoe camping and tree climbing to mountain biking and rock hunting. It’s important to find interest and curiosity in whatever natural environ you find yourself. I have lived in the city propers of Milwaukee, WI and New Orleans, LA for extended periods of time and have to say this:

In big cities, plastic bags grow on trees. While dog walking or picking up trash, a petroleum satchel was never less than ten feet away.

I am happy to have a home in Bemidji where the dog and I kick up osprey and walk upon bald eagles’ nests when the weather’s warm and the lake becomes the biggest dogpark I’ve ever been to when the snow flies.

My name is Joel. There is a hole in my heart that begs to be filled with money. Whether it be a new pair of Birkenstocks, a Pendleton blanket, or simply the coolest/newest version of something I already have it draws envy.

I have found myself having a Red Wing boot sized hole in my heart. Usually after the initial inclination to buy buy buy subsides, I find myself in an existential crisis: At what point is my own identity defined by the brands I purchase? Am I going to be eating ramen noodles out of hand crafted bamboo bowls the rest of my life? But seriously I’ve found that this <appearing> hole gaping in my chest made of virgin wool or hand crafted leather or carrying the Apple insignia subsides after a period of about two weeks. During this lull, I am content with that which I own and often find myself mending clothes, sharpening blades, and drawing plans for furniture and blueprints for a future home structure. Brand names get replaced with family and friend’s last names gratefully and I am reminded that things come in their own time. No point in having Sunday-Go-To-Meeting-Boots if the only meetings I go to are Wednesday mornings.

--

--