Meet Our Explorer Davide Fancellu

Tiplr
Tiplr Mag
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2016

By Tara Turner

Valle de la Luna — Chile

Months ago I was thrilled to receive a Facebook message from an enthusiastic young Italian man who was interested in becoming an Explorer for Tiplr. Now, many travel tips later, I am pleased to introduce him as our Explorer of the Month. He is a passionate photographer, a lover of culture and people, and a fantastically unique contributor to Tiplr.

Check out Tiplr to see his work, and his blog for more.

What made you fall in love with travel?

Traveling everywhere and being a blogger allowed me to go in the world of others, to understand their culture, history, lifestyle and traditions. I always thought about traveling around the world when I was young. Looking at pictures of people of another country, or a unique landscape, or an incredible pristine beach made it the most important fact that helped me to buy the first ticket to another place.

Hội An, Vietnam

Where was your last trip?

I spent 6 months with Romina around South America, discovering 8 different countries (Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador and Galapagos Islands, Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile and Easter Island). November 2015 — April 2016.

Favorite thing/place you found “by accident” or randomly while traveling?

Well, this is not easy to answer. I found many places that took my breath away. PERU! This place has so many natural and cultural treasures that became the most beautiful country I ever visited in my life (25 countries right now), I really didn’t expect to fell in love so much with this amazing country.

Why do you travel?

When I travel I feel free and this is the main reason why I fell in love with travel.

Davide & his girlfriend Romina on Karina Beach in the Togean Islands

How has it been traveling with your girlfriend? How does it compare to traveling with other people?

I made many of my trips around the world with my girlfriend. Traveling as a couple can make you stronger or break any relationship, well, few weeks ago we decided to buy house and live together as a result of our travel together (and we will keep traveling!)

Tell me a little about UTravelShare. How did it start? What’s your goal with the blog?

uTravelshare.com is started from an idea of my friend Stefano. He’s another great traveller, we are working together to make this blog full of travel experiences to share to everyone is interested. Our goal: Make people fall in love with travel everywhere!!!

When I travel I became a reader. I finished my last book just few days after my arrival in Alghero. It’s Dalai Lama’s book and this is the best sentence that makes me think about exploration and travel, “Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before”.

At the summit of Gunung Rinjani, Indonesia

Where are you off to next?

We are planning a trip for next year, 35-40 days. Still deciding between Namibia/Botswana or West Papua or Sri Lanka, we will figure it out at the end of this year.

Favorite thing you’ve written about (on Tiplr) so far?

Tana Toraja funeral experience in Sulawesi and Bagan Temples in Myanmar.

Uyuni Salt Flat in Bolivia

Favorite thing that you haven’t shared with us yet?

All my South American experience :-D, but no worries many posts are coming up for you!!

What’s the strangest thing you’ve experienced traveling?

Maybe is not strange or funny neither, but this is one of the most significant thing that happen during my trips around the world. Take a look the post I have written about that: http://www.utravelshare.com/robbed-in-ecuador-this-is-my-story/

--

--

Tiplr
Tiplr Mag

Tiplr is the last guide you will ever need. A travel platform where a community of smart travelers shares tips about their trips or as local experts. Tiplr.com