Meet Our Explorer Robert Coles

Tiplr
Tiplr Mag
Published in
5 min readMar 23, 2017

Robert Coles is a writer, world traveler, and public speaker based out of New York City. He grew up in a small town just outside of Nashville, TN. He works in marketing and PR for Work Better. His true passion is traveling and writing. He recently published a memoir, I Know Where I’ve Been: A Year Long Journey of Self-Discovery, in which he took a year to travel North and South America in an attempt to make good on a promise he made to his father as he passed away. In the book, Robert also tells stories of growing up in the conservative South and includes essays and open letters on various topics.

Robert studied English at Lipscomb University and Visual Communications at O’More College of Design. In addition to writing and traveling, Robert loves a stiff cocktail and a strong cup of coffee. He’s also a major foodie, having set out to find the world’s best pizza. He knows which city won the contest, but you’ll have to read his book to find out. It’s available here on Amazon in paperback and Kindle versions, as well as Nook, and available at Barnes & Nobel. [ robertmcoles.com ]

Why do you travel?

There’s so much to see and experience in the world. I travel to meet new people, experience new cultures, and learn from others. I have a rule that everywhere I go, I find a local bar or restaurant, sit next to a random stranger at the bar, and ask them to tell me their life story in exchange for a beer on me. The stories I’ve heard are amazing. The things people will tell a random stranger are inspiring. I travel to expand my world-view and build relationships, if even for that one hour at the bar.

I’m also on a mission to have a cocktail on every continent, so there’s that!

Post flight cocktails in Sri Lanka

What was your last trip? Why did you choose to go there?

My last trip was to Austria for a week in Vienna, Salzburg, and the Alps in Kitzbuhl, then a week in Negombo, Sri Lanka. I had the opportunity to accompany someone on a mostly free vacation. In Austria, I got to spend some time writing my next book in the mountains while the others were skiing (I would have broken every bone in my body if I had tried), which was exactly what I needed. Then, in Sri Lanka I got to truly relax, spending every morning in the spa getting massages and oil treatments, every afternoon on the beach under palm trees, and every evening eating delicious Sri Lankan foods. It was a great trip.

A panoramic view of the Alps
Negombo, Sri Lanka

Favorite thing you found “by accident” or randomly while traveling?

If I take this literally, I found someone’s passport from the 70s on the beach in Miami last year, and, with the help of Facebook, was able to return it to them with all their stamps in tact. She cried and FaceTimed me to tell me the stories of the trips and the stamps.

My favorite “accident” while traveling was stumbling upon the world’s best gelato shop in Rome about two blocks from the Vatican. It was a hole in the wall place, but it was absolutely delicious, and I’ve never been able to find better.

After the World’s Best Gelato in Rome

Strangest Experience while traveling?

I went to Paris and sat at one of those kitschy 50’s American diners about a block from the Louvre and struck up a conversation with a fellow American from South Carolina. She was an attorney who had decided she didn’t want to sit in an office anymore and started traveling instead. We probably talked for two hours on what was her last day in Paris. Fast forward 6 months, I am sitting at breakfast in my hotel in Rio where I was attending the Olympics and there she was! I’ll never understand how in the world two random strangers could be in the same place at the same time thousands of miles away and months apart.

Where are you off to next? Any future travel plans?

Next, I’m headed home to Nashville to sell my childhood home! I wouldn’t call that my next adventure, though. I have an amazing weekend trip to Boston planned where I’ll be filming an episode of my travel TV show currently in production. I also have trips to Manchester, UK and Sitges, Spain planned for this year. I’d also love to plan a trip to Eastern Europe for a few weeks. We shall see!

Are there any tips you’d share with others about the city or region you currently reside in?

Gosh. New York City has so much to offer, but I’d say my biggest tip is to explore outside the city, even if it’s just to the outer boroughs. Brooklyn is the obvious choice, but check out Queens. If you want really, really good food, especially Halal from a cart, Queens is the place. Also, the Bronx has some pretty cool parts of town. Within Manhattan, probably my favorite part of town is the West Village. You can often find me at Monster, Duplex, or Marie’s Crisis singing karaoke at their pianos.

Photo Credits: Robert Coles

Interview by Managing Editor: Tara Turner

Find tips from Robert and other Explorers on the Tiplr iOS app!

--

--

Tiplr
Tiplr Mag

Tiplr is the last guide you will ever need. A travel platform where a community of smart travelers shares tips about their trips or as local experts. Tiplr.com