The 30 Billion Dollar Room

Sunrose Billing
tksblog
Published in
5 min readOct 5, 2017

I was given an opportunity to go to a conference where the godfather of Artificial Intelligence (AI) was going to be speaking. I felt great! Now imagine my disappointment when I found out that there were only 3 tickets…and that I didn’t make the cut.

During TKS, which is an innovation program for students — www.theksociety.com, my team was offered the opportunity to attend the Machine Learning and The Market For Intelligence conference at the Rotman School of Management. I sent in my application and anxiously waited for a response, only to find that the tickets were being given to someone else. But, I didn’t let this stop me from attending the conference. I decided to take matters into my own hands.

Conference Day

I walked into the Rotman School of Economics WITHOUT A TICKET. By my side were my companions: Marcel, Dylan, and David. I was in! Just like that I got into the conference.

Since there wasn’t any space in the conference room, we were forced to watch from a screening room where the conference was being live-streamed. I was disappointed, but hadn’t given up hope. Fortunately, a TKS mentor was also attending the conference. He challenged us to get in the conference room, and said if we did, he would introduce us to the speakers — Shout out to Farhan Thawar!

I couldn’t bear to know that AI industry Titans were under 100m away and that I was sitting here staring at them through a camera lens. I wanted to talk to them to learn where AI was going and how I could become a part of this incredible industry. I was racking my brain about how much of a terrible situation it was when Chris Hadfield walked onto the stage and I was still outside. This was the last straw, I decided that it was better to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission. Besides, I’m 16 years old, what’s the worst that could happen?

Getting into the conference room

I left my friends in the screening room and told them that I was going into the main conference room. Thinking that I was crazy, they disregarded my comment and focused on Commander Hadfield. I climbed the staircase to the conference registration desk and walked right past as if I owned the place. I go through the first set of guards without a problem, however, the second set of security guards proved difficult. They stopped me and asked if I had an ID card, I told them that it was in my bag and started ruffling through the contents knowing fully that there was nothing in it.

I told them that I would go get another one printed out from the registration desk, I walked to the desk and started talking about needing an extra agenda and when I could expect lunch to start. As I did this, I saw the security guards leave. I rushed back and walked right in. Just like that — I was in the conference room.

I walked into the giant auditorium and texted Farhan, the TKS mentor. He said there were empty seats in the front row. I came to the conference without a ticket, and now I was sitting in the front row! I texted my friends who were still in the screening room and told them that the coast was clear. Now we were all in the conference.

As the conference went on, I met with Geoffrey Hinton (the godfather of AI, Google) and Geordie Rose (played a major role in making the first Quantum Computer)
Ruslan Salakhutdinov, Director of AI at Apple
John Tory, Mayor of Toronto

A New Opportunity

I learned about Google’s conference happening on the next day — Go North at the Evergreen Brickworks. I asked Farhan if he knew anything about it, and apparently his co-founder, Dan Debow was a speaker there. I met with him and he connected us to the Director and Vice-President of Google Canada, Sam Sebastian. By the end of the CDL AI conference, we had confirmation for tickets to GO North.

The 30 Billion Dollar Room

The Go North conference gave us the chance to meet even more tech legends, like Ted Livingston (Founder and CEO of Kik)
Harley Finkelstein, COO of Shopify
Michael Litt, CEO of Vidyard

The venue was full of tech startup executives, the net worth of that room was at least $30 billion dollars.

What I learned

All in all, both conferences were transformative experiences and taught me the Art of Hustling. Below are 3 ways I optimized my experience:

  1. I talked to everyone and anyone.
  2. I didn’t hesitate to ask for things to get what I wanted. (There is no shame nor cost in asking)
  3. I added everyone I met on LinkedIn and got their business cards.

This was just the beginning. Since then, I’ve been working on amazing projects. One of my main focuses right now is my non-invasive blood testing company, Synex Medical Inc.

These experiences taught me that if you are faced with an opportunity, don’t test the waters — it’s too late by then, jump head first because the deeper you dive, the more you learn.

Google Go North Conference

--

--

Sunrose Billing
tksblog
Writer for

High-functioning extrovert. Thinker. Innovator. 17-year-old trying to break non invasive blood testing technology at Synex Medical.