Don’t make users work for it

Alex Harrold
TMW Interactive
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2017

The summer holiday planning season is upon us and whilst I love a good break, I’m one of the 76% of the population that finds searching for one extremely stressful(1).

So, after visiting a number of websites I found one in particular that had an array of affordable and suitable holidays. There were so many options I actually felt the need to bookmark the best looking ones for future reference.

Now obviously there are many ways to do this but my eye was drawn to this site’s Airbnb style ‘favourite’ functionality. As I hovered over the icon I imagined what was to come but still held out hope that I was wrong.

Click…

YOU NEED TO BE REGISTERED TO USE THIS FEATURE SO PLEASE TELL US YOUR ALL THE USUAL CRAP INCLUDING FULL ADDRESS PLUS ALL THE THINGS YOU LIKE MOST COS WE’RE ALREADY ASSUMING YOU’RE GONNA LET US EMAIL YOU STUFF*

*I might have ad-libbed a little

At which point, I thought “are you kidding me? I want to use a tool that should bring me closer to purchasing and you’re going to make me work my arse off for it?”

Now of course I understand that to truly remember information an exchange of data must take place but, how about phrasing it to put the emphasis on helping the visitor…

That’s been added to your favourites!

We should remember your list next time you visit us on the same device but to be sure we recommend you quickly join us.

You can join via your social accounts or by giving an email and password.

The above basically translates as “we’ve done what you asked” which is the first thing a user wants to know. But it then explains that to get the full benefit of their actions they need to do a LITTLE more. This provides a simple onboarding process for those that are willing.

Make your onboarding invite welcoming, simple and where possible optional (Image by Mabel Amber)

5 other bad examples of making users work for it

Making them choose before they’re ready or able: During my recent holiday hunt I was amazed how many sites made me choose a destination. The destination was actually what I came to figure out based on the experiences I required (beach, all-inclusive, crèche) which also fit within my budget.

Forcing them to download an app

If a brand’s marketing and data strategy is spot on then targeting users with messages to explore the features of their product(s) is a no brainer. But, making them download an app first to do so isn’t. If you want to impress consumers don’t make them jump through hoops.

Force them to register: Some stakeholders struggle to comprehend why a guest checkout option is needed when the work required from the user is often near identical. And in many ways, this is a logical argument… except we’re not always logical creatures! Forced registration could count for around 23% of a site’s basket abandonment(2). It’s all about personal choices.

Make them change device: The motor industry and its many variations of car configurators and 3D walkthroughs can regularly be guilty of this. Being told that “to get the full experience view on a laptop or computer” can make the brand seem lazy and cause frustration.

The hidden navigation: Hamburger menus are a much-debated topic which I could talk/rant about for thousands of words. On smaller screens they are usually a necessity (although sites like the BBC show there are other solutions). But using a hamburger on larger screens is inexcusable. Scanning the primary navigation helps a user understand what you have to offer and what their options are, so why make users look for it?

Studies have shown that using hamburgers reduces the discoverability of content and increases task completion time(3). Yes, it’s one click but by hiding the options you reduce the potential for a user’s subconscious to drive further exploration.

Making users do unnecessary work is a guaranteed way of damaging conversion rates. So take a look at your digital assets and ask yourself the question - ‘Are we making users work for it?

1. Source Expedia http://inside.expedia.co.uk/pressreleases/time-for-a-break-brits-left-stressed-over-holiday-bookings-1319817

2. Source Formismo — https://www.formisimo.com/blog/7-best-ways-to-decrease-your-form-abandonment-rate/

3. Source Nielson — https://www.nngroup.com/articles/hamburger-menus/

--

--