Hey Oliver,

Carrie
To Be Honest
Published in
2 min readAug 10, 2022

We aren’t a good match. That became obvious to me after you insisted that five dollars was an outrageous amount of money to pay for a hamburger. And again after you mentioned don’t need a lot of money to be happy. I’m not high maintenance or rich by any means. I do like nice things though. I’m talking meals, drinks, weekends away, not mansions and yachts. Oh and I have a couple expensive hobbies, so yes I enjoy having and earning money. I’m not the kind of person who drives ten miles to find a gas station that has gas that’s two cents cheaper. That’s a bad example because I live in New York and don’t have a car. My dad does that and it drives me crazy. I went into finance so I didn’t have to be that person. I also buy things from Amazon, which you’re steadfastly against. I wish I had the willpower to take a stand and boycott them, but it’s just so convenient and fast and yes I feel guilty, but not enough to make me cancel my Prime membership. So we’d never work. I rationalized inviting you over to my place was an excuse to test out my newfound cooking skills. I probably shouldn’t have let it get that far, but to be honest, my friend said I had to be less rigid and more open minded when it comes to dating, so I gave you a chance to prove to her I could be all those things. The end came at the beginning of the night right as I was giving you a tour of my apartment. In less than two minutes you asked me how much I paid for the bottle of hand soap in my bathroom, said I had too many shoes, and asked how much my rent is. I had no interest in answering any of those questions that you shouldn’t be asking in the first place. I don’t have to justify myself to you and I don’t need to be judged by you. How I spend my money is none of your business. So I faked not feeling well and played YouTube videos of people puking at full volume from behind the locked bathroom door. No use in wasting more time just to be polite, totally not my vibe. Hope you find someone with a similar perspective as you, it’s not me.

Marly

--

--