Hello late night

Best thoughts come at night.

Farhad Sadykov
2 min readMar 27, 2014

I started to write not so long ago. But this time was enough for me to go a long way. My style, my perception of the world, my readers — all of this has changed. I was looking for new ideas. Implemented them into new posts, but not all of them have been published. Most of them are still stored in the “Drafts” folder on my computer.

I was afraid of sharp criticism of other people. Every time, when I published a new post, my heart was beating very strongly. I reread the text several times before publishing. Сut pieces of it. I was worried that others would not understand me or will laugh at me.

“Dude, why are you doing this? Don’t waste your time. Do something useful!”, my good friend once told me.

But still I decided to publish some of my emotional drafts in the community of Russian social network “VK”. Anonymously. Under the pseudonym “Your good friend”. People instantly responded. I read many positive comments and many wanted to know who is this mysterious stranger.

I thought about it.

It was a few months ago. And it was a good experience. Now I don’t want to stay. My thoughts are free. As paper airplanes in the sky.

The other day I read great articles of Ash Blankenship “How not to freak out when starting a writing project” and Lori Worsencroft “How to free your (possibly insane) inner writer”. I can say that these posts are very affected me. I found myself here.

I want to add a few words to those articles.

Sometimes I keep telling myself: “Don’t be a prisoner of your hesitation.” And then: “Perhaps, there is nothing sillier than a decision not to do anything for fear of being misunderstood.”

Better to do something and regret it than not to do something and regret it doubly.

A little carried away. Sorry.

--

--

Farhad Sadykov

Со-автор сайта о снукере (homeofsnooker.ru), а еще я делаю фотографии (everwave.ru).