Some Pre-Mother’s Day Thoughts

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz
The Democrats
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2016

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day, and I’m looking forward to spending time with my three beautiful kids and my own wonderful mom. But today, looking back on the week where Donald Trump became the Republicans’ nominee for president, I have some thoughts I want to share.

It seems that Donald Trump believes that holidays are an excuse to pander (badly) to people he’s offended:

So tomorrow, he will probably tell you how much he loves and respects and cherishes “the women.” But there are many, many reasons why more than 70% of women refuse to support him.

Donald Trump is a misogynist of the worst order, and the laundry list of proof is too long to re-hash in full.

So let’s just focus in on some of his comments about mothers and motherhood. When discussing his own children and wife in 2005, Trump said “I won’t do anything to take care of them. I’ll supply funds and she’ll take care of the kids.” Wonder what Mother’s Day is like in a home where the father refuses to lift a finger?

And you’ve heard all of the names he’s called women he doesn’t care for: A lawyer taking time to pump breast milk was “disgusting,” New York Times columnist Gail Collins has the “face of a dog,” Rosie O’Donnell is a “fat pig,” and debate moderator Megyn Kelly “had blood coming out of her… wherever” when she tried to question Trump.

In a world where many moms are their household’s primary breadwinner, families earning a paycheck from Donald Trump had better watch out. When asked about equal pay, Trump’s only response was that if women “do as good a job” as men, they’ll get paid the same. I’ll trust the decades worth of evidence disproving that one over a failed businessman, thanks.

But that assumes mothers even get jobs with Trump. When asked about hiring moms, Trump once said, “she’s not giving me 100%. She’s giving me 84%, and 16% is going towards taking care of children.” So good luck getting a job, never mind being paid fairly or treated with respect.

And, of course, when for personal or medical reasons it isn’t the time for a woman to be a mother, Trump believes she should be punished. His words.

I’m proud to be a daughter, I’m proud to be a mom, and I’m proud to be a Democrat who fights every day for all families. I hope all moms have a wonderful day tomorrow, and that in November, we’ll elect another president who respects them.

Debbie Wasserman Schultz is the Chair of the Democratic National Committee

--

--

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz
The Democrats

Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida. Chair of @TheDemocrats (Democratic National Committee). Mom, wife, FLGator. Author, FOR THE NEXT GENERATION.