Yesterday, the words bubbled upwards from the the dark depths of my being

Harold Campbell
To the Point
Published in
1 min readApr 28, 2017
Crisco/Corbis @ http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2015/07/why-screams-are-so-scary

They sprang forward with a life of their own. Demanding to be heard.

Rushing out of my mouth, catapulting forward, upheaving everything in their path. My body convulsed.

In their wake? A trail of hurt and anguish, broken promises and pain.

I was shocked and surprised, as was she. Not by the devastation I had wrought.

No.

Instead, I was shocked by her kindness. “Perhaps I am for loving a fool like you...”

How often do we say things that hurt other people that we love? Things that we wish we could instantly take back. How often are we the target of such vitriol?

Yesterday, she reminded me that we don’t have to respond with hurt for hurt.

What will you do tomorrow?

Enjoyed reading this? Hit the ❤️ to show your support.

Cheers

-harold

--

--