The Minimalist Approach: Less is More

You’re in more control than you may think.

Jordan Mendiola
Summit
2 min readNov 25, 2019

--

In a world where we oftentimes have lots of choices, it can be hard to be happy. After my couple months of restrictions within the Army, I have found that having less options can sometimes be more. I am a creator at heart. Through videos, writing, and music, I need a break from all possible distractions so I am actually thriving being limited on what I can do.

When we are back home with many options, it can be overwhelming for high-energy people like me. I will most-likely say yes to parties, concerts, or anything I deem fun.

A change in pace has been a good chance for me to focus on making money exercising, learning, and creating more.

With so much opportunity back in the United States, it was easy to get off-track and not stick to a goal. Now, after a workday, I’ll relax by taking a nap followed by grinding on passion projects I can accomplish.

FOMO is a real thing and social media oftentimes makes people feel like they aren’t “in” with everyone else. For example, Halloween season posed a lot of FOMO for me with the Snapchats of parties and costume-party Instagram posts. Most millennials will crave the adrenaline that comes with going to these parties! Including me. However, my given missions and duties at hand don’t allow me to go out and satisfy short-term excitement.

In the film, Bohemian Rhapsody, the band heads out into a rural countryside home and focuses solely on making music and bonding with their band mates. This scene is what I comes to mind when I reflect on my deployment. When work is done, and I finish my mission, there’s nothing but time for me to create.

My advice to anyone who is a creator is to challenge yourself to black out all the distractions you can while still having a balance in life. Practicing moderation with leisure time and productivity time. If you’re like me, then you will feel incredible once you realize how much you can create with a goal in place.

Whether you want to learn a new language or create an album of music, escape for a little, and grind it out! You’re in more control than you may think!

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Summit

I started writing during the pandemic, took a short break. But have returned for more. Quality over quantity this second time around. Thanks for being here!