The Pandemic Put Me in the Best Financial Position of My Life

I’ve been preparing for this moment for over 30 years

Kristi Keller
Summit

--

Knowing how the current situation has negatively impacted several million people worldwide, I feel a little sheepish admitting that I’m in the best financial position I’ve ever been in.

It’s all due to the pandemic.

Never before have I been this comfortable with my finances and I’m trying to figure out how it happened.

Since being laid off my job more than five weeks ago my income has been significantly reduced. Employment insurance is roughly 60% of what I earned at work and my Medium earnings have plummeted.

Yet I’m still coming out on top. I’ve been able to build my savings account to a level it has never reached, I’m paying my bills on time, and my usual financial panic has disappeared.

So how have I been able to create this gravy train in the face of an economic crisis? Let’s take a look at what has changed.

Income patterns changed

When I had a job I knew exactly which days to expect money. Payday was every second Friday and I had all my bill payments hand written on my calendar to coincide with paydays.

--

--

Kristi Keller
Summit

Write like no one is reading, because it might be true. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story. https://wildhoodwanted.substack.com/