A Short Confession

kaichu
To uncategorized
Published in
1 min readJul 28, 2019
Absolutely not authorized by my cat, NomNom

I have spent years to position myself, as a result, I got 3 master degrees.

My academic background is computer science, while my second master degree is information design. My career path is about software engineer, project manager, product manager to product strategist. My career path seems a bit messy comparing to my career philosophy — I am simply in to how to make things happen.

Computer science is a domain focusing on solving problems, but I am still hungry for defining the right problem to solve. Designer experience sharpens my ability of defining the right problem. However without the ability to work as a whole team, business sense plus strategic thinking, nothing could really happen as a real business. This explains the recent part of my job as a project manager, product manager, and product strategist.

I would argue that working in a (chaotic) startup is the shortest path to gain practical experience. In the world full of information, experience which is hard to be written on Internet seems valuable. That is why I ended up working in an AI startup for 3 years, and my job title changed almost every year.

--

--

kaichu
To uncategorized

Everything could be treated as a design project.