After the first week

Settling in

Mark Nijhof
TO WORK REMOTE
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2013

--

Today closes the first week that I am truly working remotely from home; and it is working rather well.

I bring the kids to school, then when I am back home, I start working. Until it is time to fetch the kids from school again. Then later in the evening I work an additional few hours. The time in between work is spend with the famly.

I used to be able to either drop the kids of at school, or pick them up from school. Being able to do both is very nice. My wife likes it as well since she now doesn’t have to do either one of those (no drivers license and two more kids at home).

Changes

I did notice a few things of course, for example I have had a few times that I was working in the evening when I had questions, but nobody to ask them to. When working in an office with common hours, those non-overlapping windows tend to be a lot smaller. Because of this I am trying to get as much day time programming in as possible.

I think that when I am more confident that I’ll move more to the evening as, from experience, that is a time I can really focus well.

Also, I tend to forget, to eat lunch. Mostly when my wife is not around. Before I had college’s going to lunch so I just tagged along. But, now when working remote there are no such triggers. I will need to get that into my daily rhythm.

One day I had to take the laptop into the bedroom as I was on Skype and the youngest was making a lot of noice. Having a proper office may be on the list of things to get.

On the other hand having the door open and hearing the birds sing, and suddenly one of my own kids calling from outside to show something cool, is awesome!

One final thing I would like to mention is that I used to have more time for side projects. But, since my day schedule has now shifted and given more time for the family, this “extra” time I used to have in the evenings is now “work” time. Which is not a problem as long as “work” stays “fun”. And I think that that won’t be a problem either.

Next week will be cool,I have been working at Id3as for one month, but I have yet to meet two out of the three college’s/bosses. Next week I’ll meet one of those.

Header image comes from unspash

--

--