Becoming A Writer in ‘Today I Learned A Thing’

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing
2 min readNov 29, 2019

--

Updated 12/14/2019

Come one, come all! I created this publication because I couldn’t find any active publications where the goal was to share things you learned. If you’d like to be a writer, here are the guidelines:

Length - No minimum. Well, not technically. I expect to see something at least one paragraph long. *If your story is only one paragraph, I expect it to be at least 5 sentences.

I am going to cap the length at a 5 minute read, for now.

Topics - Literally anything. Learning is wide-open territory. The only caveat I have is that you write about something you learned recently. I really do want this to be a “Today I learned” type of deal. I should be able to learn what you learned by reading your article.

Sources - I definitely want to see at least one source linked in your article. While, technically speaking, Wikipedia can be a reliable source, you’d be better off figuring out which source the information you used from Wikipedia was taken from.

Draft or Published - If you submit a draft to me, it should only be because you’re okay with me doing some light editing, or because you’re not sure you’ve successfully followed the requirements of submission. You may submit stories you’ve already published.

Post Frequency - No consistency required. Want to post every day? Cool. Want to post once a week, or month? Also cool. Want to post here once and never post again? Still cool.

If interested in being a writer, you may either email me at alittlebitoftoday@gmail.com, comment on this article, or leave a private note. Bonus points if you already have an article you’d like to submit, so that I can see how you write about what you’ve learned.

I look forward to hearing from you!

--

--

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing

I write about a variety of topics. Email alittlebitoftoday@gmail.com for me to write about something specific, or other writing-related queries.