How Much Would it Cost to Dress as an Edwardian Lady Today?

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing
4 min readNov 28, 2019

--

I watched Gigi tonight and started down a rabbit hole.

See, I love extravagant dressing. My mom said that getting a true 1900s outfit would probably run about $5000 today between all the layers.

I set off down the rabbit hole to find out how expensive that particular Wonderland would be. After much searching I finally found a website, glamourdaze.com, that shows all the steps of getting dressed in the 1900s. Here’s all the things I learned about what this would run today.

Undergarments

Combination

In the previous Victorian period of fashion, you would’ve started by dressing with drawers and a chemise.

Drawers might have been crotch-less for easy going on the go. Glamour daze seems unclear how you would wear ones that weren’t split with all the layers back then.

The combination combined (woah) the drawers and the chemise. You could have your skin protected from your corset and have your drawers all in one.

The only that looks right for the period is this one I found on Etsy for $190, made-to-size. That seems excessive, and it suddenly seems like there’s already a piece I’d rather make myself. It shouldn’t be hard because the fit should be kind of…

--

--

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing

I write about a variety of topics. Email alittlebitoftoday@gmail.com for me to write about something specific, or other writing-related queries.