You can’t splice speaker wire into a power adapter.

If you do you may be disappointed unless you do the math first.

BOFace
Today I Learned a Thing

--

Image by the author.

In the picture, you can see my old, but newly mounted, Cox Cable router. Note the two wire nuts. Why are they there? I wanted to lengthen the wire so that it would reach the wall outlet, resulting in a nice elegant setup. I went to Best Buy to see if there were extensions available, that is, plug the power adapter into the extension and the extension into the router. No dice. This should have told me something but instead, I listened as the clerk suggested splicing in speaker wire. It was a bit of an awkward conversation with us trying to maintain six feet of separation and not talk directly at each other, but such is life in the age of the COVID-19.¹

I performed this splice but when I plugged the result into the router it failed to start, causing me to slap my head with a big “Duh-Oh!” If anyone should have known better it would have been me. I have taken physics, so I am aware of Ohm’s law. I recalled the tech from Cox mentioning that if you used an incorrect power adapter there was nothing to worry about because if the current was not correct it would not harm anything — the router would simply not start. I suppose if you were to splice the wires from the router to an ordinary two-pronged plug and subject the router to…

--

--

BOFace
Today I Learned a Thing

No woman ever murdered her husband while he was washing the dishes.