Today in GradS 11.8

James Chae
Today in GradS
2 min readNov 8, 2014

--

Distractions, distractions, distractions

Shortly after I started school a friend asked me how I was managing my internet distractions. Both him and I had been in college in the early-2000's when there were arguably less online distractions. But honestly, I also spent an absurd amount of time online back then too. The biggest difference is the volume and access to distraction.

They are all there, but before there weren’t so many voices. Buzzing around me all day are tweets chiming, gchat pops, clickbait headlines lurking in corners, snapchats behind me, instagram pats on the back, emails stacking up, and tabs that go ignored. All this adds up to a big box in the corner of my room labelled FOMO.

That said here are some great distractions from the past week.

Tatsuro Yamashita albums

This was an especially helpful distraction

The most relaxing song ever

Friendship of Nations: Polish Shi’ite Showbiz

Look! Some artists created an print-on-demand magazine about FOMO.

Unlisted

--

--