Atypical

Vineeth Ramesh
TodayILearn
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2018

I’ve been wanting to write out about this show, Atypical, ever since I started watching. Before I start writing about it, if you had been reading my blog you would have realized that I wanted to move away from viewing Netflix shows and wanted to use that time for something more productive. Well, I did try to do that but it lasted only for 23 days and I realized that I de-stress myself by engaging in different videos online.

Atypical is unlike any other show that you would come across, it’s a show highlighting a life of a kid who is autistic and how he views the world, in a mildly humorous fashion. The story revolves around Sam’s (protagonist) obsession with Antartica and penguins and how he relates human’s behaviour that he comes across to how penguins lead their life. I felt like this show was very similar to the movie Wonder ( I had written about this as well). It made me feel like I wanted to follow Sam throughout his life, never wanting to stop. You learn a lot by watching these series or at least I felt like I did. I believe an increase in these fictional stories about various conditions has opened the space to talk about them and make the public more aware. Hopefully, these stories will allow us to be more aware and respectful about disabilities.

Here are some of my favourite lines:

Sam: “ Whoever said practice makes perfect was an idiot. Humans can’t be perfect because we’re not machines. The best thing you can say about practice is that it makes…better”

Sam: It’s 100% cotton which is my favorite percentage of cotton.

--

--