A Team Above All. Above All A Team.

Today’s Current
Today's Current
Published in
7 min readAug 20, 2018
Photo by Sheldon Vacek

Originally published on November 18, 2017.

By Emma MacLeod

Through the ups and downs of Glencoe Football, the Seniors have experienced it all. Get to know some of the players as they look to the future after their time wearing the G.

#50 MATTHEW SMITH

Position: Kicker

What was your favorite memory of football?: My favorite memory of the season was celebrating after the South Albany win, someone started playing “Tequila” and even the coaches were getting into it.

What was your biggest play this season?: My biggest play was probably one of the onside recovers I had.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: I couldn’t believe it was over, and I’d only played the sport for one year. I couldn’t imagine what the other seniors must have felt.

What will you miss the most?: I’ll probably miss the feeling of being part of something bigger the most and the school rallies around football more than other sports.

What college do you plan on going to?: I plan on attending the University of Oregon.

Do you plan on playing football?: I’ll probably end up trying to walk on, the worst that’ll happen is I’ll get cut.

What do you want to major in?: I want to major in accounting.

What career are you wanting to go into?: I want to be an accountant.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: The only advice I have for the next generation is that they can’t be afraid to try something new and that they need to give it their all.

#24 JUAN DIAZ

Position: Running Back/Middle linebacker

What was your favorite memory of football?: When we were down 21–0 against Dallas but still ended up coming back and beating them.

What was your biggest play this season?: My 35-yard option run against Corvallis, which is when I broke 5 tackles to get into the end zone. Making the score Warriors-14, Tide-13.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: I felt sad that it was my final game playing for Glencoe with my brothers after 7 years with this program. But I knew that we all left it on the field and played our hearts out which led to a 55–6 victory over The Dalles.

What will you miss the most?: Being able to play under those Friday night lights with my brothers, in front of the best student section in the state.

What college do you plan on going to?: PCC for 2 years then Transfer to Portland State University for my last 2 years.

Do you plan on playing Football?: I might try-out when I transfer to PSU.

What do you want to major in?: Engineering.

What career are you wanting to go into?: I want to see where athletics will take me, but if it doesn’t work out, I want a career in building and construction.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: Work hard at everything you do. Whenever you get the chance or opportunity to improve or make yourself better, do it! Remember who you’re playing for and why you’re playing the game. You don’t know when it’s going to be your last rep or last chance to do something.

#33 DEVON SCHAUMBURG

Position: Wide Receiver/Defensive Back

What was your favorite memory of football?: My favorite memory of football is our comeback win against Dallas at our Homecoming game.

What was your biggest play this season?: My biggest play this season was also against Dallas when I scored a TD that brought us within two points and helped lead the comeback.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: After my last football game, I felt proud of not just myself, but my teammates. My main goal was to change the culture of Glencoe football and make an impact and I feel like my teammates and I really accomplished that.

What are your plans for College?: I plan on going to the University of Oregon and majoring in business. I also want to go into sports marketing and marketing in general.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: I think the best advice I can give for future Glencoe football players is to buy into what your coaches are saying, get into the weight room, play multiple sports, and represent the G.

#13 ROBERT BRINKLY

Position: Free Safety

What was your favorite memory of football?: Ruben’s pick 6 to win the homecoming game against Dallas.

What was your biggest play this season?: Intercepting the Dallas quarterback to seal the homecoming win.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: I was extremely sad that it was over but I definitely won’t miss practice. But I always will miss playing with my team and being successful with them.

What will you miss the most?: Playing on Friday nights at Hare Field with all the fans watching.

What college do you plan on going to?: Oregon and OSU.

Do you plan on playing football?: No, I do not.

What do you want to major in?: Business

What career are you wanting to go into?: Something to do with marketing or finance.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: Keep the winning mentality.

#54 DIEGO GARCIA

Position: Outside Linebacker

What was your favorite memory of football?: Taking a long trip to our road game in California.

What was your biggest play this season?: Coming out the second half against Dallas down 27–14 and scoring on opening kickoff return.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: Sad to see the end of an era.

What will you miss the most?: The pregame listening of music in the locker room and going crazy.

What college do you plan on going to?: Undecided

Do you plan on playing football?: No

What do you want to major in?: Economics

What career are you wanting to go into?: Undecided

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: Remember where you came from and how hard you worked to get to where you are right now.

#68 BRANDON UNDERWOOD

Position: Defensive Line and Left Tackle

What was your favorite memory of football?: The comeback to beat Dallas (who destroyed us last year).

What college do you plan on going to?: I am undecided right now due to recruiting.

Do you plan on playing football?: Yes

What do you want to major in?: Either exercise science or mechanical engineering.

What career are you wanting to go into?: Coaching or some sort of trainer (strength or athletic).

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: If you put in everything you got into this program, and you will be successful.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: I felt proud because I know that I was apart of a great group of guys who stuck it out the past few years and turned this program around.

What will you miss the most?: Being able to suit up with my boys on a Friday night under the lights. Those were some of the most memorable nights I’ve had so far.

What was your biggest play this season?: It was the McKay game where someone tried to block me and I lifted him and threw him to the side he was blocking and made the tackle.

#7 HUNTER CLAYTON

Position: Wide Receiver

What was your favorite memory of football?: My favorite football memory was when we drove down to Cali to play against Eagle Point and got a victory.

What was your biggest play this season?: My biggest play this season was against Cleveland, I made a catch on a post route and broke 3 tackles for a touchdown.

What will you miss the most?: I’m going to miss my brothers the most, we were a family and a pack, I’m gonna miss getting to tear it up with my boys Friday nights.

What college do you plan on going to?: I haven’t decided which college I’m going to attend but most likely Oregon.

Do you plan on playing football?: I do not plan on playing football In college.

What do you want to major in?: I’m going to major in Psychology and minor in Criminal Justice.

What career are you wanting to go into?: The career I want to go into is law enforcement.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: My advice to the future Glencoe football players is to remember who you play for and what’s on your helmet, work hard and stay humble.

#4 JUSTIN SCHOENFELD

Position: Wide Receiver

What was your favorite memory of football?: Favorite memory was getting lit in the locker room after a win.

What was your biggest play this season?: The biggest play was when I caught a screen pass and spun out of 2 guys for 22 yards.

How were you feeling after your last football game?: I was very emotional because it was the last time I would get to suit up with my brothers

What will you miss the most?: I will miss Thursday night team dinners the most.

What college do you plan on going to?: I plan on attending Wenatchee Valley College.

Do you plan on playing football?: Unfortunately, I don’t plan on playing football.

What do you want to major in?: I want to major in Criminal Justice.

What career are you wanting to go into?: I want to go into law enforcement.

What is some advice for the next generation of Glencoe Football Players?: My advice for the future of our team is to definitely listen to your coaches…even tho it might sound like they are nagging you it’s only to make you better and also put in the work in the weight room….Reynoso will take care of you.

--

--