Aneli Godinez

Today’s Current
Today's Current
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2018

Originally published on October 28, 2017.

By Emma MacLeod

Name: Aneli Godinez

Grade: Sophomore

Position: Setter

How long have you been playing volleyball?: “I’ve been playing volleyball since 5th grade, so about 5 years.”

What other sports have you played in the past?: “Gymnastics for about 6 years, martial arts for 4 years, and track since 6th grade.”

Why did you start playing volleyball?: “I was in gymnastics at the time and I was getting tired of it, so I wanted to try a new sport. My dad told me he played beach volleyball in high school when he lived in Mexico. He was the youngest on his team which coaches selected players to be on. I thought it would be cool to try it out and see if I liked it or not, and I haven’t stopped playing since.”

Why do you love volleyball?: “I love volleyball because it distracts me from anything else going on and I just focus on playing and doing my best. I especially love being a setter because it gives you pressure to make sure everything goes smoothly. Every position has an important role and I love seeing when every person does their part and we have more fun and play at a higher level.”

Who is your sports hero?: “Margaret Scott-she’s one of the UO setters. Ever since I started watching college volleyball, I’ve loved the way she plays and I look up to her a lot.”
What motivates you in sports?: The sports I do now, are the same ones my dad did in high school, and so I’m trying to do as well as he did and make him proud. Whenever he goes to my volleyball games, he’s kinda coaching me from the audience and giving me little signs to help me do better. I love it. Then after games, he also tells me what I did good on, and what I can work on for the next game.

What is your biggest accomplishment: “I think it’s making varsity my freshmen year. I had worked really hard that previous summer and when I found out I made the team, I was very surprised but so happy and excited to be able to play with the girls.”

What is your favorite quote: “I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.” -Arthur Rubinstein

What is your ultimate goal from sports?: “I would really love to play volleyball in college.”

What is the biggest challenge you face?: “As cheesy as it may sound, I think my biggest challenge is being short. I have to work harder to be able to be able to play close to or as taller girls do.”

--

--